Does Pinterest train on your data?
Pinterest trains its machine-learning models on your Pins by default, and says so explicitly regardless of when you posted them. Outside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, no way out is stated.
No opt-out found in this policy
"For example, using information to train, develop and improve our technology such as our machine learning models, regardless of when Pins were posted."
- 7 Sept 2026
- All accounts
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 0D83584B…EE9E
How we read it: The phrase "regardless of when Pins were posted" is unusually explicit: this is a retroactive permission covering content uploaded years before the policy existed, which is why retroactive is set here rather than left unstated. Corrected 19 Aug 2026: this page said the only opt-out language covered marketing, analytics and state privacy rights, which missed the sentence naming this use directly. Pinterest grants a right to object where features "supported by generative artificial intelligence are based on legitimate interests" — the most explicit AI objection route on this site. It opens "If you live in the EEA, the UK, or Switzerland", so it misses most Pinterest users.
opt out, object to, right to object, legitimate interest, restrict, settings
What the document does offer
- "If you live in the EEA, the UK, or Switzerland, you also have some additional rights: Right to object or restrict processing: You can object to direct marketing from us or where we rely on legitimate interests to process your information, such as where features supported by generative artificial intelligence are based on legitimate interests"
- opt out of "targeted advertising", "sharing" or "sale" under US state laws, in the Privacy and Data Settings menu
- delete your data and account, in settings
- device-level opt-ins for precise location and notifications
Why none of it applies: The first is the clearest AI objection route on this site — Pinterest names generative AI features as an example of what you may object to. It is also explicitly geographic, opening "If you live in the EEA, the UK, or Switzerland", so it is unavailable to most of the people this verdict is written for. Nothing else in the document touches model training.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 88 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Pinterest AI training
Plan by plan, from what Pinterest's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Pinterest.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Pinterest on 27 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause