232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE

GitHub vs GitLab

GitHub's policy answers the question and is graded F. GitLab's doesn't say either way. That's a finding about the document, not a worse grade.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

GitHub

GitHub uses your code, inputs and AI outputs to develop and train AI/ML models by default, with no self-serve opt-out stated in its privacy statement.

Verdict
F
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What F means
On by default, with no way out on the plan you are on — and nothing short of reading the terms would have told you.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

GitLab

GitLab's AI terms mention training once: to forbid you from using GitLab Duo to train a competing model. Whether GitLab trains on your code isn't stated.

Verdict
By default
The policy does not say
The way out
Nothing to opt out of on the record
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

GitHub: every plan

Individual accounts (all plans)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
None offered
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
86 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Qualified
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Organization-provided accounts (Enterprise/Business)UNCLEAR
OPT-OUT
Not established
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
—
DE-IDENTIFIED
—
HUMAN REVIEW
Not established

GitLab: every plan

All plans (GitLab Duo / AI Functionality)UNCLEAR
OPT-OUT
Not established
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
—
DE-IDENTIFIED
—
HUMAN REVIEW
Not established

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons