232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
media

Does The New York Times train on your data?

The New York Times says information it collects may be used to train AI models — including recordings of your chats with its support staff.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Asked · no reply
Verdict
F
Trains on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts and subscriptions
Privacy Policy · All accounts and subscriptions
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"This information may be used to train AI models for these purposes."
CHECKED
30 Aug 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts and subscriptions
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
9EE90C60…A097

How we read it: Notable because of who is saying it. The Times is in litigation with OpenAI over the training of models on its journalism, and its own privacy policy reserves the same use of its readers. It is stated twice: once of collected information generally, and once of recorded support conversations — "Your chat session will be recorded for quality assurance and training and may be used for training AI models." A third passage covers training systems on reported content and content available on the Times services. No opt-out is named.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accounts and subscriptionsTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
None offered
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
88 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of The New York Times AI training

Plan by plan, from what The New York Times's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts and subscriptions

No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for The New York Times.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

1 CAPTURE SINCE 30 AUG 2026

The record starts here. The New York Times's policy was first captured on 30 Aug 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare it against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against that copy, and anything that moves appears here.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policyquoted
30 Aug 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We wrote to The New York Times on 1 Sept 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with The Guardian · Writing about The New York Times? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.