The New York Times The Guardian
The New York Times's policy answers the question and is graded F. The Guardian's doesn't say either way. That's a finding about the document, not a worse grade.
The New York Times
The New York Times says information it collects may be used to train AI models — including recordings of your chats with its support staff.
Verdict
F
- Trains on you by default
- No opt-out in the policy
- On by default, with no way out on the plan you are on — and nothing short of reading the terms would have told you.
- 5 Oct 2026
The Guardian
The Guardian says it may use generative AI on personal data, and points to principles held on another page. What it may build from that data, this document does not say.
Verdict
- The policy does not say
- Nothing to opt out of on the record
- 5 Oct 2026
The New York Times: every plan
The New York Times · what each plan can refuse · checked 5 Oct 2026
All accounts and subscriptions
YES
None offered
Not stated
Not stated
Unknown
50 / 50
On by default, with no way out on this plan
33 / 33
No route to refuse is stated
0 / 4
No paywall on the control
1 / 4
2 kinds of data are in scope
2 / 4
The policy does not say whether people read it
2 / 2
Nothing is said about de-identification
All accounts and subscriptionsTRAINS: YES
- None offered
- Not stated
- 88 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
The Guardian: every plan
The Guardian · what each plan can refuse · checked 5 Oct 2026
All readers and account holders
UNCLEAR
UNCLEAR
Not established, see below
Not stated
—
Not established
All readers and account holdersUNCLEAR
- Not established
- Not stated
- —
- —
- Not established