Dropbox Sync.com
Dropbox's policy answers the question and is graded B. Sync.com's doesn't say either way. That's a finding about the document, not a worse grade.
Dropbox
Dropbox commits not to build generative AI models on customer content without consent. The commitment is real, but it lives in a principles page, not the policy.
Verdict
B
- Does not train on you by default
- No opt-out in the policy
- Off by default. Training happens only if you opt in, or not at all.
- 5 Oct 2026
Sync.com
Sync.com sells end-to-end encrypted storage. Its privacy policy mentions training once, and it is about staff.
Verdict
- The policy does not say
- Nothing to opt out of on the record
- 14 Sept 2026
Dropbox: every plan
Dropbox · what each plan can refuse · checked 5 Oct 2026
All accounts
NO
Nothing to switch off
Not stated
Not stated
Unknown
14 / 50
Off by default
0 / 33
Nothing is on, so nothing needs refusing
0 / 4
No paywall on the control
0 / 4
One kind of data is in scope
2 / 4
The policy does not say whether people read it
2 / 2
Nothing is said about de-identification
All accountsTRAINS: NO
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
Sync.com: every plan
Sync.com · what each plan can refuse · checked 14 Sept 2026
All plans
UNCLEAR
UNCLEAR
Not established, see below
Not stated
—
Not established
All plansUNCLEAR
- Not established
- Not stated
- —
- —
- Not established