232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
storage

Does Dropbox train on your data?

Dropbox commits not to build generative AI models on customer content without consent. The commitment is real, but it lives in a principles page, not the policy.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Does not train on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
AI Addendum · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"We will not build generative AI models using customer content without consent."
CHECKED
17 Aug 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
07B8F873…FC4F

How we read it: Three limits worth knowing, none of which undo the commitment. It is scoped to generative AI models, so non-generative or predictive machine learning is not addressed either way. The consent mechanism is not described — the page says "without consent" without saying what granting it would look like. And this is a principles document, dated April 2025, rather than contract terms: the privacy policy itself still contains no form of the word "train" and merely points at an FAQ. Graded on the commitment because it is published, dated and unambiguous, but the strongest available statement being a principles page is itself worth noticing.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Dropbox AI training

Plan by plan, from what Dropbox's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: Dropbox's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

6 CAPTURES SINCE 2 JAN 2023

3 changes detected since 2 Jan 2023. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.

  1. NotableTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors and training.
  2. NotableTouched jurisdiction, retention and sub-processors.
  3. NotableTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors and plan tiers.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
7 Sept 2026
AI Addendumquoted
17 Aug 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Dropbox about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with MEGA, Sync.com and pCloud · Writing about Dropbox? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Dropbox is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Dropbox is graded B on Is It Training on Me