232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
· ai-assistants

OpenAI vs DeepSeek

On what the policies say, there's nothing between them. Both are graded D.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

OpenAI

ChatGPT trains on your content by default on Free, Plus and Pro, with an opt-out that binds new conversations only. Business and API do not train by default.

Verdict
D
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
A self-serve opt-out exists
What D means
On by default. An opt-out exists, but you have to go looking for it.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

DeepSeek

DeepSeek trains its models on what you type. An opt-out is listed, but only among rights that "may be available" depending on where you live, and you have to email for it.

Verdict
D
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
Opt out by contacting support
What D means
On by default. An opt-out exists, but you have to go looking for it.
Last checked
13 Aug 2026
Read the full verdict →

OpenAI: every plan

Free, Plus & Pro (ChatGPT consumer)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Self-serve toggle
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
51 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Business, Enterprise & APITRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

DeepSeek: every plan

All accountsTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Contact support
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
57 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons