232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
· home-security

Ring vs Arlo

Arlo's policy answers the question and is graded B. Ring's doesn't say either way. That's a finding about the document, not a worse grade.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

Ring

Ring's notice never says "train". Its US render links a disclosure: generative models trained on datasets that "in some cases" hold personal information. Whether your video is in them, neither says.

Verdict
By default
The policy does not say
The way out
Nothing to opt out of on the record
Last checked
16 Sept 2026
Read the full verdict →

Arlo

Arlo's only training clause is opt-in: AI is trained on videos you "donate", selected one at a time, with permission. No other training use is stated.

Verdict
B
By default
Does not train on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What B means
Off by default. Training happens only if you opt in, or not at all.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Ring: every plan

All accountsUNCLEAR
OPT-OUT
Not established
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
—
DE-IDENTIFIED
—
HUMAN REVIEW
Not established

Arlo: every plan

All plansTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Yes

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons