Does Arlo train on your data?
Arlo's only training clause is opt-in: AI is trained on videos you "donate", selected one at a time, with permission. No other training use is stated.
No opt-out found in this policy
"If you elect to "donate" your videos to Arlo, we may use and view the donated video recording for research and Services development purposes. This includes training our artificial intelligence algorithms or as we otherwise notify you. To "donate" a video to Arlo you must select individual video recordings from your video library and provide your permission."
- 31 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans
- us
- Fetched from the company
- D45F15A1…9F23
How we read it: The B is inferential: Arlo never writes that non-donated footage is excluded from training — the grade rests on the donate clause being the document's only training language, which the control search supports. The clause carries an open tail ("or as we otherwise notify you"), and the policy separately reserves future uses "as we may describe to you". Arlo does run AI over live footage by default — alerts, and an optional Person Recognition feature processing "facial images and face prints" — but as stated feature processing, not training. Human review is the clause's own words: donated recordings may be used "and viewed".
opt out, opt-out, object, withdraw, consent, delete, settings
What the document does offer
- The donation gate itself: "To 'donate' a video to Arlo you must select individual video recordings from your video library and provide your permission." — per-recording, affirmative
- "Where you have provided consent, you have the right to withdraw it." — donation is permission-based, so withdrawal plausibly reaches it, though the policy never says what happens to already-donated footage
- A jurisdiction-conditioned objection right ("You may also have the right to object to how we process information...") listed under rights in certain US states and other regions
- A feature toggle for Person Recognition ("You control if this biometric processing occurs...") — controls the AI feature, not training
- Deletion of recordings from your account — storage, not a training control
Why none of it applies: There is no default-on training for an opt-out to reach: the only training use stated is gated on donation, which makes the gate itself the control. optout is recorded as none for the same reason as other opt-in tiers on this site — nothing needs opting out of on the document's own terms, and the ad, cookie and sale opt-outs the policy does offer are about different things.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 19 / 100
- Not stated
- Yes
How to opt out of Arlo AI training
Plan by plan, from what Arlo's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans
Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.
What this policy has done since we started watching
The record starts here. Arlo's policy was first captured on 31 Aug 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare it against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against that copy, and anything that moves appears here.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Arlo about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause