232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE

Zendesk vs Freshworks

On what the policies say, Zendesk is the better choice for your data: graded E against Freshworks's F.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

Zendesk

Zendesk says it uses Service Data to improve its AI features. Paid accounts can opt out, but only by asking; Zendesk confirms a free trial cannot opt out at all, and that none of this is published.

Verdict
E
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
The opt-out is sold with a higher plan
What E means
On by default. The opt-out is real but sold — it arrives with a higher plan. Privacy paywall.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Freshworks

Freshworks records support calls and uses them to train speech recognition. The opt-out it offers next to that sentence is for analytics.

Verdict
F
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What F means
On by default, with no way out on the plan you are on — and nothing short of reading the terms would have told you.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Zendesk: every plan

Paid accounts (AI Services)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Contact support
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
55 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
The right to refuse starts here
Standalone free trial (AI Services)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Paid upgrade required
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
75 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Freshworks: every plan

All accountsTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
None offered
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
88 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons