Does Apple train on your data?
Apple states your private personal data is not used to train its foundational AI models. Note the two qualifiers doing work in that sentence.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Your private personal data is not used to train our foundational AI models."
- 7 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All consumer devices & services
- global
- Fetched from the company
- CF492D94…2C7A
How we read it: Both qualifiers matter. "Private personal data" is not defined in this capture, and "foundational" models is narrower than all models — the sentence does not speak to non-foundational or feature-level models. It is a clear commitment as far as it goes; it simply does not go as far as "Apple does not train on you".
opt out, Privacy Inquiries, Applebot
What the document does offer
- One control sits beside the clause: "To exercise your right as an individual to opt out of processing, visit the Apple Intelligence Privacy Inquiries form" — a form, in the paragraph about Applebot's web crawl and research datasets
Why none of it applies: Nothing is on by default that an opt-out would need to reach, and the form the policy offers is about the processing of crawled and research data by an individual's request, not about training on account data. It is named here so a reader who finds it knows what it does and does not cover.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Apple AI training
Plan by plan, from what Apple's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All consumer devices & services
Nothing to switch off: Apple's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
No change detected. We've held a copy of Apple's policy since 13 Aug 2026 and re-read it since, across 2 captures. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the document, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Apple about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause