Does Runway train on your data?
Runway's terms say your Inputs and Outputs "may be used by the Company to train and improve its AI models", under a perpetual, irrevocable licence. None of its three documents names a way to decline.
No opt-out found in this policy
"You acknowledge that Inputs and Outputs may be used by the Company to train and improve its AI models, algorithms and related technology, products and services (including for labeling, classification, content moderation and model training purposes)."
- 21 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 0496A8B2…B25A
How we read it: Re-graded from UNCLEAR on the terms of use of 11 May 2026, after the privacy policy and trust centre were found silent. The 15 September revision keeps every quote here. The terms define Inputs as prompts "describing images, videos, games, or other content" and take a "non-exclusive, irrevocable, perpetual, worldwide, royalty-free, fully paid, transferable, sublicensable" licence over them and the Outputs. Human review is in the same section: the Company "reserves the right, but not the obligation, to review or monitor Inputs and Outputs using automated and manual tools". Enterprise has separate terms, not held here. Runway didn't reply to a letter of 20 August 2026 about the silence.
opt out, opt-out, object, settings, consent, enterprise, default, train
What the document does offer
- in the terms: "16.9 30-Day Right to Opt Out", the arbitration opt-out, and eight further "opt out" mentions in the same section
- in the terms: "the Company reserves the right, but not the obligation, to review or monitor Inputs and Outputs using automated and manual tools"
- in the terms: Runway Enterprise Services are governed by separate "Runway Enterprise Services Terms", not held
- in the privacy policy (runway.com/privacy-policy, captured 2026-09-10): "opt-out" for marketing communications and the state-law "Notice of Right to Opt Out" for advertising disclosures; "train": 0 matches
- in the trust centre (trust.runwayml.com, captured 2026-09-08): 0 matches for every term
Why none of it applies: No route is stated in any of the three documents. "Opt out" appears nine times in the terms and every one is the arbitration clause; in the privacy policy it is marketing email and the advertising disclosures some US states let residents refuse. "Object" is the GDPR right listed once in the privacy policy, unconnected to training. The trust centre contains none of the searched terms. A perpetual licence with no named control scores as no opt-out.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 91 / 100
- Not stated
- Yes
How to opt out of Runway AI training
Plan by plan, from what Runway's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Runway.
What this policy has done since we started watching
3 changes detected since 8 Sept 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Vendor response
We wrote to Runway on 15 Sept 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause