232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 6 SEPT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
home-security

Does Wyze train on your data?

Wyze says it uses the information it collects, video from your cameras included, to train new algorithms and models. A consent sentence exists for videos; the policy never says consent is required.

LAST CHECKED
6 Sept 2026 · 1 month ago
CONFIDENCE
medium
RIGHT OF REPLY
Asked · no reply
Verdict
F
Trains on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
Privacy Policy · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Improve our products, Devices, and Services, including by using information to improve, train, develop, or deploy new algorithms, models, and/or machine learning technologies;"
CHECKED
6 Sept 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Saved by hand — not re-read automatically
SHA-256
85F281FF…2FA4

How we read it: The purpose sits in the general list and covers "information", which the statement defines to include video and images from your cameras and the health data from a Wyze watch, band or scale. One paragraph pulls the other way: under Descriptive Alert, "If you consent to allow us to use your information for purposes of training our models or algorithms", Wyze "will use your videos and the descriptions created by Descriptive Alert" to develop or improve them. That says what happens with consent, not without it, and names no place to give or refuse it; the general purpose has no such condition. Medium confidence for that reason. Saved by hand, not re-read automatically.

CONTROLS SEARCHED FOR · 10 Sept 2026

opt out, opt-out, consent, object, submit a video, train, default

What the document does offer

  • "If you consent to allow us to use your information for purposes of training our models or algorithms or improve our products and services, we will use your videos and the descriptions created by Descriptive Alert to develop or improve our algorithms, models, and/or machine learning technologies." — the Descriptive Alert paragraph; no place to consent is named
  • "if you choose to voluntarily submit a video to help improve our Services, we store this person detection information for as long as needed" — the person-detection paragraph
  • "You may also opt-out of our collection and processing of non-personal data from your videos for providing insights about your use of our cameras." — the one video opt-out, for camera-setting insights
  • "Depending on where you reside or the Services you use, you may have the right to object to certain processing, withdraw your consent where we process or disclose your information on that basis" — the rights paragraph
  • "opt out" and "opt-out": eighteen occurrences, for marketing, text messages, location, targeted advertising, sales and sharing, and the video insights above
  • "train": three occurrences, the clause quoted, the consent sentence, and Descriptive Alert's own description; "default": 0 matches

Why none of it applies: No route is stated. The policy's opt-outs are marketing email, text messages, precise location, targeted advertising, and "non-personal data from your videos for providing insights about your use of our cameras"; training is in none of them. The Descriptive Alert paragraph's "If you consent" presupposes a consent that is never located, and "voluntarily submit a video to help improve our Services" is a donation, not a switch. The "right to object to certain processing" is "depending on where you reside", a statement about the law. Scored as no opt-out.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
None offered
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
88 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Wyze AI training

Plan by plan, from what Wyze's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Wyze.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

1 CAPTURE SINCE 6 SEPT 2026

The record starts here. Wyze's policy was first captured on 6 Sept 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare it against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against that copy, and anything that moves appears here.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policyquoted
6 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We wrote to Wyze on 16 Sept 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Wyze? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.