232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
home-security

Does SimpliSafe train on your data?

SimpliSafe's AI Addendum answers what its privacy policy only pointed at: video trains its models only if you opt in to the sharing programme, and models already trained are not undone if you leave.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Off by default, opt-in only
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
Terms of Service · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Specifically, we plan to use Shared Video Content you submit under the Program to improve our Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML) and Computer Vision (CV) models, features, and functionality of our products and services and/or develop new features or products"
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
B2D6A04A…450E

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026 on the AI Video Sharing Terms Addendum, the document the privacy policy names. Participation is "strictly voluntary", entered by opting in inside the app, and can be ended at any time; what cannot be undone is stated: "updated or retrained AI/CV models using the Shared Video Content, cannot and will not be deleted". Illinois, Texas, Portland and premises outside the US are excluded. Opt-in, so B. Human review is stated: shared video is provided "for review by SimpliSafe employees and representatives", including "reviewing uncompressed video frames and camera logs for AI model development and improvement purposes". Nothing on de- identification.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Yes

How to opt out of SimpliSafe AI training

Plan by plan, from what SimpliSafe's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

3 CAPTURES SINCE 31 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of SimpliSafe's documents since 31 Aug 2026 and re-read them since, across 3 captures of 2 documents. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the documents, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
7 Sept 2026
Terms of Servicequoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to SimpliSafe about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with ADT · Writing about SimpliSafe? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

SimpliSafe is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

SimpliSafe is graded B on Is It Training on Me