232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
· privacy-tools · comms

Proton vs Fastmail

On what the policies say, there's nothing between them. Both are graded B.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

Proton

Proton states that Proton Scribe does not use your data to train its models. The commitment is explicit and scoped to that one feature.

Verdict
B
By default
Does not train on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What B means
Off by default. Training happens only if you opt in, or not at all.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Fastmail

Fastmail's privacy policy now says it in one sentence: it does not and has never trained AI on customer data. It was added on 2 September 2026, a week after Fastmail told us so by email.

Verdict
B
By default
Does not train on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What B means
Off by default. Training happens only if you opt in, or not at all.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Proton: every plan

All plans (Proton Scribe)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Fastmail: every plan

All plansTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons