Does Proton train on your data?
Proton states that Proton Scribe does not use your data to train its models. The commitment is explicit and scoped to that one feature.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Proton Scribe does not use content data or any of your data to train its models."
- 13 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans (Proton Scribe)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 0E4579BE…0D23
How we read it: Scoped to Proton Scribe, the writing assistant, rather than offered as a company-wide statement — though for a company whose core products are end-to- end encrypted, the training question largely does not arise elsewhere. This capture does not speak to any other Proton AI feature.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 19 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Proton AI training
Plan by plan, from what Proton's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans (Proton Scribe)
Nothing to switch off: Proton's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
The record starts here. Proton's policy was first captured on 13 Aug 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare it against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against that copy, and anything that moves appears here.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Proton about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause