232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE

Zapier vs n8n

On what the policies say, n8n is the better choice for your data: graded B against Zapier's D.

Grades read the plan most people are on. Each company's full entry has every plan, every clause and the archived copy it was read from.

Zapier

Zapier's legal page says it uses customer content for model training unless you opt out: automatically on Enterprise, by asking on every other plan. Sub-processors are barred.

Verdict
D
By default
Trains on you by default
The way out
Opt out by contacting support
What D means
On by default. An opt-out exists, but you have to go looking for it.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

n8n

n8n says three times that it doesn't use your data to train its own or anyone else's models. The AI Assistant sends workflow context to third-party LLMs, which are barred from training on it.

Verdict
B
By default
Does not train on you by default
The way out
No opt-out in the policy
What B means
Off by default. Training happens only if you opt in, or not at all.
Last checked
5 Oct 2026
Read the full verdict →

Zapier: every plan

All plans except EnterpriseTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Contact support
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
54 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
EnterpriseTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

n8n: every plan

All plansTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
AI Assistant (n8n Cloud)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

Every grade on this page is the one on the company's own entry, read from a dated, archived copy of its policy. Nothing here is computed separately. How grades are set · All comparisons