Does Zapier train on your data?
Zapier's legal page says it uses customer content for model training unless you opt out: automatically on Enterprise, by asking on every other plan. Sub-processors are barred.
Graded on the plan most people are on. The other plans are in the matrix below.
"Enterprise customers are automatically opted out of Zapier using their content for model training and improvement purposes. All other customers may opt out at any time."
- 10 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans except Enterprise
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 477AEB42…F418
How we read it: Re-graded from UNCLEAR on the Automation Platform Information page, undated, which the privacy policy does not mention. Training on customer content is the default: Enterprise customers are "automatically opted out", and "All other customers may opt out at any time". The route, per the trust page's FAQ, is a form, which scores as a request rather than a switch. Sub-processors "are prohibited from using customer content for their own model training". Zapier was written to on 2026-08-19 about the silence and did not reply; the answer was on its own site. Nothing on de-identification or human review.
opt out, opt-out, form, settings, train, default
What the document does offer
- on the legal page: "All other customers may opt out at any time." — the sentence after the Enterprise exclusion; no location given on that page
- on the trust page (zapier.com/security-compliance): "customers on other plans can opt out of data training by filling out this form", linking a form, in a FAQ the capture does not hold
- on the legal page: "Zapier subprocessors are prohibited from using customer content for their own model training."
- "default": one match, about agent allowlists, not training
Why none of it applies: The route exists and is a form: the trust page's FAQ links it, and the legal page says only that opting out is possible at any time. A form is a request to the company rather than a control in the product, and it scores as one. Enterprise customers do not need it. The privacy policy, the document a customer would read first, says none of this.
"Enterprise customers are automatically opted out of Zapier using their content for model training and improvement purposes."
- 10 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Enterprise
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 477AEB42…F418
How we read it: Excluded automatically by the same sentence: "Enterprise customers are automatically opted out of Zapier using their content for model training and improvement purposes." Off by default for that plan, so B.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Contact support
- Not stated
- 54 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Zapier AI training
Plan by plan, from what Zapier's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans except Enterprise
Yes, but not self-serve: Zapier makes you contact support.
- Fill in the opt-out form linked from the trust page's FAQ (zapier.com/security-compliance).
- Enterprise accounts are opted out automatically.
Enterprise
Nothing to switch off: Zapier's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
2 changes detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Zapier on 15 Sept 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause