Does n8n train on your data?
n8n says three times that it doesn't use your data to train its own or anyone else's models. The AI Assistant sends workflow context to third-party LLMs, which are barred from training on it.
No opt-out found in this policy
"We do not use personal data processed in connection with the Website or Services, including data from third-party services or integrations, to train n8n or third party machine learning (ML) models."
- 1 Oct 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 53A1B8AE…8B44
How we read it: Unusually broad, and said three times in the same policy, in sections 3, 4 and 10. The clause quoted here covers n8n's own models and third-party ML models, and reaches data arriving from the integrations a workflow connects. For an automation tool that's the material point, since most of what n8n touches belongs to somebody else's service. Section 10 repeats it for AI generally: n8n does "not use personal data for the development, training or improvement of any artificial intelligence or machine-learning models". Corrected 2 October 2026: this entry said twice. It was three times when first read, on 17 August.
"Data is only sent to AI services if your workspace has opted in to use the Assistant, which is on by default for n8n Cloud."
- 5 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant (n8n Cloud)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- BBA4ECA0…30F1
How we read it: Quoted for the default, because that's the surprising part. On Cloud the Assistant ships on, so workflow context goes to a third-party AI service unless somebody turns it off. The training promise binds the providers: "This data is not used to train the AI services' models." What's sent is limited, with no credential values and no output data. The docs page was rewritten in October 2026 and no longer says the data is deleted after 30 days. The B is for the training exclusion. Data still leaves n8n.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 19 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 19 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of n8n AI training
Plan by plan, from what n8n's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans
Nothing to switch off: n8n's policy says training is off here.
AI Assistant (n8n Cloud)
Nothing to switch off: n8n's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
6 changes detected since 17 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
- Touched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors, plan tiers and training.
- Touched retention and sub-processors.
- MajorTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors, plan tiers and training.
- Touched opt-outs, retention and what's collected.
- Touched retention. Not yet reviewed by a human.
- Touched retention. Not yet reviewed by a human.
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to n8n about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause