232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
privacy-tools

Does Bitwarden train on your data?

Bitwarden's policy splits your data in two, names each, and says flatly that it cannot reach the half that matters: "Bitwarden cannot access Vault Data."

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Clarified
Verdict
A
Cannot train on you
Your content is not readable to them

Evidence 1 — All plans
Privacy Policy · All plans
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Bitwarden cannot access Vault Data."
CHECKED
7 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All plans
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
EAD9B744…A29C

How we read it: The cleanest example of this grade on the site. The policy defines Vault Data itself, says it is "encrypted using secure cryptographic keys under your control", then states the incapacity in five words, and nothing elsewhere walks it back. What it does not cover, and the policy is equally direct about, is Administrative Data: names, emails, phone numbers, payment details and the number of items in your vault, all of which Bitwarden collects and analyses. The grade is about the vault, not the account. Asked on 27 Aug whether we had been too generous, Bitwarden answered: "Correct, Bitwarden cannot access Vault data." The first company to answer that question, and it matters most here.

What Bitwarden said when we showed them this

Clarified28 Aug 2026
“Thank you for reaching out and reviewing Bitwarden! Correct, Bitwarden cannot access Vault data.”

Printed exactly as it was sent, and unedited except where […] marks a cut.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All plansTRAINS: CANNOT
OPT-OUT
Nothing to opt out of
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
5 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
No

How to opt out of Bitwarden AI training

Plan by plan, from what Bitwarden's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All plans

There is nothing to opt out of. Bitwarden's own policy says it can't reach the content, so training on it isn't something a setting controls.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

2 CAPTURES SINCE 18 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of Bitwarden's policy since 18 Aug 2026 and re-read it since, across 2 captures. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the document, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policyquoted
7 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

Clarified28 Aug 2026

Their reply is quoted in full at the top of this page.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with 1Password · Writing about Bitwarden? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Bitwarden is graded A, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Bitwarden is graded A on Is It Training on Me