232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 6 SEPT 2026 · 0 CLAUSES ON FILE
marketplace

Does Etsy train on your data?

Etsy's privacy policy, in its UK and US versions, never mentions training, models or AI. What its automated processing and "improve our Services" reach is not stated.

LAST CHECKED
6 Sept 2026 · 1 month ago
CONFIDENCE
unclear
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
No clause on file

Evidence 1 — All accounts (buyers and sellers)
All accounts (buyers and sellers) · No clause located
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
UNCLEAR — THE POLICY DOES NOT PERMIT A DETERMINATION

Etsy publishes its policy as a PDF per region; the UK and US versions, both 29 pages, were saved by hand on 6 September 2026 and read side by side. Neither contains "train", "machine learning" or "artificial intelligence". The policy describes "automated processing techniques and/or manual (human) review" for safety and integrity, information used "to improve our Services", and personalised recommendations and advertising. None of that says whether listings, messages or purchase history train a model, and a policy that does not raise the subject cannot be read either way. A finding of silence.

DOCUMENTS READ
Etsy Privacy Policy, en_GB PDF, saved by hand 2026-09-06 and converted to text, 29 pages · Etsy Privacy Policy, en_US PDF, saved by hand 2026-09-06 and read alongside it, 29 pages
SEARCHED
train, training, fine-tune, machine learning, artificial intelligence, AI model, large language model
MATCHES IN AI-TRAINING CONTEXT
0 of 0 raw hits
CHECKED
6 Sept 2026

None of the seven terms appears in either version. "Model" appears once, not in a machine-learning sense.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accounts (buyers and sellers)UNCLEAR
OPT-OUT
Not established
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
—
DE-IDENTIFIED
—
HUMAN REVIEW
Not established

How to opt out of Etsy AI training

Plan by plan, from what Etsy's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts (buyers and sellers)

Not graded, so no route is pointed at. Etsy publishes its policy as a PDF per region; the UK and US versions, both 29 pages, were saved by hand on 6 September 2026 and read side by side. Neither contains "train", "machine learning" or "artificial intelligence". The policy describes "automated processing techniques and/or manual (human) review" for safety and integrity, information used "to improve our Services", and personalised recommendations and advertising. None of that says whether listings, messages or purchase history train a model, and a policy that does not raise the subject cannot be read either way. A finding of silence.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

1 CAPTURE SINCE 6 SEPT 2026

The record starts here. Etsy's policy was first captured on 6 Sept 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare it against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against that copy, and anything that moves appears here.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
6 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Etsy about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Etsy? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.