232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
dev

Does Sourcegraph train on your data?

Sourcegraph's AI terms say it and its partner models "do not use your Code to train models", and that the partners keep nothing beyond the time it takes to answer.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Does not train on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
Terms of Service · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Sourcegraph and Sourcegraph Partner LLMs do not use your Code to train models."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
AE5AFF53…D0F7

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026 on the AI Terms, last modified 12 June 2026, which the privacy policy never pointed to. Section 2 sets zero retention at the partner models, with one carve-out, keeping inputs and outputs briefly for abuse detection, "and will not use such data for model training or any other purpose". The older Cody notice says the same in plainer words: "No, Cody does not train on your code unless you provide permission." B because it is an undertaking; nothing on human review or de-identification.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Sourcegraph AI training

Plan by plan, from what Sourcegraph's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: Sourcegraph's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

4 CAPTURES SINCE 30 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of Sourcegraph's documents since 30 Aug 2026 and re-read them since, across 4 captures of 3 documents. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the documents, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
7 Sept 2026
Terms of Servicequoted
10 Sept 2026
AI Addendum
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Sourcegraph about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Sourcegraph? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Sourcegraph is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Sourcegraph is graded B on Is It Training on Me