232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 6 SEPT 2026 · 0 CLAUSES ON FILE
gaming · Steam (Valve)

Does Steam train on your data?

Valve's Steam privacy agreement never mentions training, models or AI. What happens to your reviews, chat and play data beyond recommendations is not stated.

LAST CHECKED
6 Sept 2026 · 1 month ago
CONFIDENCE
unclear
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
No clause on file

Evidence 1 — All accounts
All accounts · No clause located
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
UNCLEAR — THE POLICY DOES NOT PERMIT A DETERMINATION

The agreement, saved by hand on 6 September 2026 and read in full for the first time (the monitor had stored a twelfth of it), runs to 135 paragraphs and does not contain "train", "model", "machine learning" or "artificial intelligence". It says store content and update messages are "tailored to meet your needs and populated with relevant recommendations" from the data it describes. Recommendations are not training, and the document does not say what else the data feeds. A finding of silence.

DOCUMENTS READ
Steam Privacy Policy Agreement (store.steampowered.com/privacy_agreement), saved by hand 2026-09-06, 135 paragraphs
SEARCHED
train, training, fine-tune, machine learning, artificial intelligence, AI model, large language model
MATCHES IN AI-TRAINING CONTEXT
0 of 0 raw hits
CHECKED
6 Sept 2026

None of the seven terms appears in the document.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsUNCLEAR
OPT-OUT
Not established
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
—
DE-IDENTIFIED
—
HUMAN REVIEW
Not established

How to opt out of Steam AI training

Plan by plan, from what Steam's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Not graded, so no route is pointed at. The agreement, saved by hand on 6 September 2026 and read in full for the first time (the monitor had stored a twelfth of it), runs to 135 paragraphs and does not contain "train", "model", "machine learning" or "artificial intelligence". It says store content and update messages are "tailored to meet your needs and populated with relevant recommendations" from the data it describes. Recommendations are not training, and the document does not say what else the data feeds. A finding of silence.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

2 CAPTURES SINCE 30 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of Steam (Valve)'s policy since 30 Aug 2026 and re-read it since, across 2 captures. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the document, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
6 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Steam (Valve) about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Steam (Valve)? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.