Does Unity train on your data?
Unity's player policy says it may use third-party AI services to run its business, and never says whether what it collects from you in games trains anything.
This clause is real, but it doesn't resolve the training question - see the finding below.
"We may use third-party services that utilize artificial intelligence or other advanced technologies to help us operate our business and support internal functions."
- 6 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Players of Unity-made games and apps
- global
- Saved by hand — not re-read automatically
- B2F8F65F…5EE4
Why this is still UNCLEAR: The Game Player and App User Privacy Policy, 398 paragraphs saved by hand on 6 September 2026, is mostly about the advertising and analytics identifiers Unity collects inside other companies' games. Its only AI language is a heading and one sentence: "We may use third-party services that utilize artificial intelligence or other advanced technologies to help us operate our business and support internal functions." That is Unity's back office, not your data as a training input. "Training" appears twice, both times employee training. Whether player data trains anything is not stated.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Not established
- Not stated
- —
- —
- Not established
How to opt out of Unity AI training
Plan by plan, from what Unity's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
Players of Unity-made games and apps
Not graded, so no route is pointed at. The Game Player and App User Privacy Policy, 398 paragraphs saved by hand on 6 September 2026, is mostly about the advertising and analytics identifiers Unity collects inside other companies' games. Its only AI language is a heading and one sentence: "We may use third-party services that utilize artificial intelligence or other advanced technologies to help us operate our business and support internal functions." That is Unity's back office, not your data as a training input. "Training" appears twice, both times employee training. Whether player data trains anything is not stated.
What this policy has done since we started watching
The record starts here. Unity's 2 documents were first captured on 31 Aug 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare them against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against those copies, and anything that moves appears here.
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Unity about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause