232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 2 CLAUSES ON FILE
dev

Does Vercel train on your data?

Vercel trains on your content on Hobby and trial Pro, and shares it with third parties for their training too. Paid Pro is off by default. The privacy policy says none of this — the terms do.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Asked · no reply
Verdict
D
Trains on you by default
A self-serve opt-out exists

Evidence 1 — Hobby & trial Pro
Terms of Service · Hobby & trial Pro
EVIDENCE 01 OF 02
"if you are on a Hobby plan or trial Pro plan, you agree that we may use Your Content to train our artificial intelligence"
CHECKED
14 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Hobby & trial Pro
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
3E0078B8…CA1E

How we read it: The privacy policy defers the whole control to "Section 3 of the Terms of Service" and says nothing further. That section, archived here on 24 Aug 2026, is where the tiering lives: Hobby and trial Pro are trained on, and Your Content may additionally be shared "with third parties for the purpose of developing and improving their products, including training". D rather than C because a reader of the privacy policy learns only that a control exists somewhere else.

CONTROLS SEARCHED FOR · 24 Aug 2026

Model Training, opt out, opt-out, opt in, by default, Team account settings, Enterprise

What the document does offer

  • terms, section 3: "if you are on a Hobby plan or trial Pro plan, you agree that we may use Your Content to train our artificial intelligence (“ AI ”) and machine learning models, and we may share Your Content with third parties for the purpose of developing and improving their products, including training"
  • the exit: "You may opt-out of Model Training at any time by adjusting your Team account settings or by upgrading to an Enterprise plan."
  • the default, stated by contrast for the other plan: "If you are on a paid Pro plan, Model Training is not enabled by default and you may opt in to Model Training."
  • in the privacy policy itself: "Opt-out of Model Training as described in Section 3 of the Terms of Service" — and nothing more. No default, no setting name, no route.

Why none of it applies: The exit is real and named — "You may opt-out of Model Training at any time by adjusting your Team account settings or by upgrading to an Enterprise plan" — so this is not a paywall: the settings route works without paying. What earns the D is where the information lives. The privacy policy carries no default, no setting name and no mechanics; all three sit in the terms behind a cross-reference.

Evidence 2 — Paid Pro
Terms of Service · Paid Pro
EVIDENCE 02 OF 02
"If you are on a paid Pro plan, Model Training is not enabled by default and you may opt in to Model Training."
CHECKED
14 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Paid Pro
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
3E0078B8…CA1E

How we read it: The same section states the opposite default for paid Pro: "Model Training is not enabled by default and you may opt in to Model Training." That is opt-in, and the strongest thing Vercel publishes. B rather than A because it is an undertaking in terms Vercel can revise.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

Hobby & trial ProTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Self-serve toggle
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
51 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Paid ProTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
17 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Vercel AI training

Plan by plan, from what Vercel's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

Hobby & trial Pro

Yes. Vercel has a self-serve setting.

Vercel dashboard
  1. Click Team Settings in the top left of the dashboard, not Account Settings.
  2. Click Data Preferences.
  3. Toggle from Opt-In to Opt-Out.

Applies from the point you opt out.

Paid Pro

Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given, in a self-serve setting.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

5 CAPTURES SINCE 13 AUG 2026

1 change detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.

  1. MinorTouched opt-outs and plan tiers. Not yet reviewed by a human.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
AI Addendum
5 Sept 2026
Privacy Policy
5 Sept 2026
Terms of Servicequoted
14 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We wrote to Vercel on 24 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Vercel? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.