Does JetBrains train on your data?
JetBrains' AI terms undertake not to train on your code unless you expressly agree. The data sharing that feeds training is off by default on paid licences and on by default on free ones.
A self-serve opt-out exists
"We undertake that We will not use Your Inputs, Data, Outputs, and Suggestions to train any language models that generate code, text, or another type of data from which Your Inputs, Data, Outputs, or Suggestions could be extracted, unless You expressly agree to it."
- 10 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Paid and commercial licences
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 1FE4120C…34C9
How we read it: Version 2.1 of the JetBrains AI Terms of Service, effective 30 September 2025. The express agreement is the IDE's detailed data collection setting, which the AI Assistant documentation says is disabled by default and, when on, collects the full communication with the model, "kept strictly confidential" and usable "for product improvement and training AI models". The terms also bind AI subcontractors to at least the same restriction. B because the switch exists and starts off; not A because it is an undertaking. JetBrains was written to on 2026-08-19 and did not reply; the answer was in its own terms.
"If you're using a non-commercial license, detailed code‐related data collection is enabled by default - you can disable it in the IDE settings via Settings | Appearance & Behavior | System Settings | Data Sharing ."
- 10 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Non-commercial (free) licences
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 944F7DCD…FE11
How we read it: The Product Data Collection FAQ, version of 16 December 2025, states the other default: under a non-commercial licence, detailed code-related data collection is enabled until you disable it, and the FAQ names the menu path. It is the same setting as the paid tier's, with a different starting position, and what it collects is the full communication with the model. C rather than D because the default is disclosed.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Self-serve toggle
- Not stated
- 37 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of JetBrains AI training
Plan by plan, from what JetBrains's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
Paid and commercial licences
Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.
Non-commercial (free) licences
Yes. JetBrains has a self-serve setting.
- Open Settings, then Appearance & Behavior, System Settings, Data Sharing.
- Turn off sending detailed code-related data.
What this policy has done since we started watching
The record starts here. JetBrains's 4 documents were first captured on 13 Aug 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare them against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against those copies, and anything that moves appears here.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to JetBrains on 19 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause