Does Chegg train on your data?
Chegg trains its own and third-party AI models on what students submit, unless it knows they are under 18. Adults can only object under GDPR, in the EEA, UK or Switzerland; US adults get nothing.
No opt-out found in this policy
"We and/or our business partners may use the personal data you provide through AI Functions to improve our services, including to train or fine-tune our artificial intelligence and machine learning models."
- 14 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 58695664…D791
How we read it: The material is student coursework, submitted by people who are usually paying to get help with it, and the clause reaches past Chegg to "third- party providers'" models. The next sentence says "You may have the right to opt out of such use depending on your jurisdiction"; in the region-specific section that is the GDPR objection — "You have the right to object to our processing of your personal data that is based on our legitimate interests" — for the EEA, UK and Switzerland. For everyone else there is no setting, no address and no plan on which this is off, which the grade rests on. Busuu, which Chegg owns, separately trains on learner audio "with support from expert human reviewers".
"We do not use content submitted by users we know to be under 18 to train or improve any artificial intelligence model, and we do not disclose that content to third parties for their own purposes."
- 14 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Users Chegg knows to be under 18
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 58695664…D791
How we read it: Added 14 September 2026 from the policy updated 9 September. Content from users Chegg knows to be under 18 is not used to train or improve any AI model and is not disclosed to third parties for their own purposes. Off by default for that group, so B; the adult tier above is unchanged. The same revision adds an "AI Function" paragraph naming Azure AI Speech Services, OpenAI and Anthropic behind the speaking features, and drops the two paragraphs on recorded voice. Chegg wrote on 15 September that this protection "was always a part of Chegg's practices" and has since been made clear; the reply is quoted below, and the adult tier stands because it names no route for anyone else.
What Chegg said when we showed them this
Clarified“It is not accurate to state that “Chegg trains its own and third-party data AI models on what students submit.” While the policy language that you quoted is accurate, it is not complete. Chegg’s policy has always been that it does not use content submitted by users Chegg knows to be under 18 to train or improve any artificial intelligence model, and Chegg does not disclose content from such users to third parties for their own purposes. [...] we have since made that clear, even though this protection was always a part of Chegg’s practices.”
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 88 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Chegg AI training
Plan by plan, from what Chegg's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Chegg.
Users Chegg knows to be under 18
Nothing to switch off: Chegg's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 30 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.