232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
fitness

Does Garmin train on your data?

Garmin's AI Transparency Statement says its Active Intelligence model was trained on "a small sample of fitness data" from people who opted in to product improvement.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
medium
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Off by default, opt-in only
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
AI Addendum · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"User fitness data: A small sample of fitness data was used from individuals who opted in to allow their data to be used for product improvement. Training on fitness data helps the model learn Garmin fitness definitions and fitness data formatting."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched, browser-rendered
SHA-256
6894ED9F…E3A4

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026. The privacy policy is unchanged and still silent; the answer is in the AI Transparency Statement for Garmin Active Intelligence, dated 27 March 2025, which describes one model's training set in the past tense: web documents, code, mathematics, and a small sample of fitness data from people who opted in to product improvement. Graded opt-in because that is where the statement says the fitness data came from. Medium confidence because what was done is not a commitment about what will be, the statement covers one feature, and the opt-in is named only as product improvement, not located in a setting. Nothing on human review or de-identification.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
17 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Garmin AI training

Plan by plan, from what Garmin's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

4 CAPTURES SINCE 30 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of Garmin's documents since 30 Aug 2026 and re-read them since, across 4 captures of 2 documents. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the documents, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
1 Oct 2026
AI Addendumquoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Garmin about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with Strava · Writing about Garmin? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Garmin is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Garmin is graded B on Is It Training on Me