Does Loom train on your data?
Loom lists machine learning and AI model training among the ways it develops and improves the service. No opt-out is stated.
No opt-out found in this policy
"To develop and improve the Services, including machine learning and artificial intelligence model training;"
- 7 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 81A74B8E…4DD3
How we read it: The clause appears as one item in a list of service-improvement purposes rather than as a dedicated AI section, and it does not say which inputs are covered — recordings, transcripts, or usage data. Graded on the plain reading that model training is among the stated purposes. The policy states the training use and is silent on how to refuse it. Searched this capture for an AI-training control: the opt-out language it does contain covers marketing email, analytics and US state-privacy disclosures, none of which touch model training. Loom is Atlassian-owned and this is Atlassian's policy, so that verdict's finding applies here: the objection right exists, gated to the EEA and UK.
opt out, object to, right to object, legitimate interest, restrict, settings
What the document does offer
- the right to object to legitimate-interest processing — in a section opening "If you are an individual in the European Economic Area (EEA) or United Kingdom (UK)", warning it "may mean no longer using the Services"
- "how you can object to certain uses of information about you", the policy's own summary of that right
- control or opt out of cookies and tracking technologies, per the Cookies & Tracking Notice
- opt out of promotional communications, in the message or in account settings
- opt out of certain disclosures of personal information and targeted advertising, under US state laws
Why none of it applies: Same document, same finding as the Atlassian verdict: the only control reaching model training is the objection right, and the policy bounds it by geography rather than by plan. Nothing outside the EEA and UK undoes the clause quoted here, which is what this grade records.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 87 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Loom AI training
Plan by plan, from what Loom's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Loom.
What this policy has done since we started watching
No change detected. We've held a copy of Loom's policy since 13 Aug 2026 and re-read it since, across 2 captures. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the document, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Loom on 27 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause