Does Runna train on your data?
Runna lists "Train, fine-tune, and improve internal ML or AI models" among the things it does with your activity, performance and location data. The only opt-out it names is for advertising.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Train, fine-tune, and improve internal ML or AI models, or other internal models"
- 14 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- global
- Fetched from the company
- E3C305F2…A3FA
How we read it: Runna has been a Strava company since 2025 and keeps its own policy rather than deferring to Strava's, which matters here: Strava is a D because its policy points at a "Product Improvements" setting, and nothing equivalent appears in this document. The training line sits in a list of example activities under "To analyze, maintain, and improve Runna's Services", and the data categories listed against that purpose include Activity Data, Performance Metrics and Location Information — for a running app, where you run. Runna does say it may share "aggregated or deidentified information", but that sentence is about sharing insights, not about what trains the models.
opt out, opt-out, privacy controls, settings, withdraw, object to, AI Features
What the document does offer
- "You can opt out of us sharing your personal information for third-party targeted advertising" — advertising, not training
- "Do Not Share My Personal Information" link and Global Privacy Control — both scoped to targeted advertising
- consent withdrawal, which the policy attaches to device-setting permissions rather than to the training purpose
- "Subject to your privacy controls" — about who among other users can see your information
Why none of it applies: The purpose that contains the training activity is founded on contract and legitimate interest, not consent, and no setting in the document reaches it. The one thing a reader can switch off is ad sharing. F is the no-opt-out grade here, on the same rule as Atlassian, Loom and Spotify.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 89 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Runna AI training
Plan by plan, from what Runna's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Runna.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 29 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Runna on 31 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause