232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
storage

Does Box train on your data?

Box's AI FAQ answers what its blocked privacy policy cannot be asked: neither Box nor its model providers train on customer data, and any future custom training would need explicit approval.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Does not train on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
AI Addendum · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Box's model providers do not train on any data that they receive from Box. Box also does not train AI models based on customer data."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
84FD07FC…8F3E

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026. The privacy policy has served a challenge page to every reader since early September, so the answer comes from the Box AI FAQ in the support centre, undated. Both halves are there, Box's own models and its providers', with the future carved out honestly: custom-trained models on a customer's content, if ever offered, would need that customer's explicit approval. Customers can also switch Box AI off. B because it is an undertaking.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Box AI training

Plan by plan, from what Box's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: Box's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

3 CAPTURES SINCE 6 SEPT 2026

The record starts here. Box's 3 documents were first captured on 6 Sept 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare them against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against those copies, and anything that moves appears here.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
6 Sept 2026
Privacy Policy
6 Sept 2026
AI Addendumquoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Box about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Box? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Box is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Box is graded B on Is It Training on Me