Does Canva train on your data?
Canva trains its AI models on your activity, content and uploads by default, with an opt-out in privacy settings. Canva Education content is excluded from AI training.
A self-serve opt-out exists
"and to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning to develop, improve and provide our Service. You can manage the use of your data for training AI to improve our Service in the privacy controls page under your privacy settings (opens in a new tab or window) ."
- 31 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Free & Pro (consumer accounts)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 013A9C85…7715
How we read it: The quote starts mid-sentence to reach the control: the training purpose and the opt-out sit in one paragraph, and quoting only the first left the toggle rating unevidenced. The opt-out is real and free, but it lives on a separate "privacy controls" page reached from privacy settings, and the policy describes a second, distinct control for "Memories" in AI personalisation settings — so switching off one does not self-evidently switch off the other. The policy states the training use under a "Service improvement" heading rather than announcing it at signup, which is why this grades D rather than C.
training, privacy controls, settings, opt out, by default, Memories
What the document does offer
- "You can manage the use of your data for training AI to improve our Service in the privacy controls page under your privacy settings" — a named, free control, in the same sentence as the training clause
- "You can manage your Memories in your AI personalization settings"
- "You can opt out of Canva collecting more data about you from third-party providers to tailor your experience" — enrichment, not training
- "If you prefer not to have your information used for this purpose, you can opt out at any time by emailing us at privacy@canva.com" — scoped to the preceding purpose, not to training
- "by default" appears five times and every one is about design sharing and visibility: link access, Canva Sites indexing, Education account privacy, anonymous collaboration
Why none of it applies: The control is the clearest kind: named, free, in settings, and written into the same sentence as the training clause. What is missing is its starting position. Canva states defaults five times in this document, always about who can see a design and never about whether training is on — so a reader learns the switch exists and not which way it ships. D on the Figma rule.
"We will not use User Content of Canva Education for AI training."
- 31 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Canva Education (students)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 013A9C85…7715
How we read it: A flat exclusion rather than a switch, which is why there is no opt-out to offer. It is stated in a passage about advertising, and covers "User Content of Canva Education" specifically — the policy does not say whether a student's activity and analytics data, which the consumer clause above also names, is excluded on the same terms.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Self-serve toggle
- Not stated
- 52 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Canva AI training
Plan by plan, from what Canva's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
Free & Pro (consumer accounts)
Yes. Canva has a self-serve setting.
- Click your profile icon on the Canva homepage.
- Choose Your account, then Privacy controls.
- Switch off the permission covering use of your content to train AI.
Canva's help page doesn't name the training permission; its privacy policy calls it managing "the use of your data for training AI". A permission with a lock icon can't be changed on that account type.
Canva Education (students)
Nothing to switch off: Canva's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
8 changes detected since 3 Feb 2023. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
- Touched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention and sub-processors.
- Touched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected and training.
- Touched training. Not yet reviewed by a human.
- MajorTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors, plan tiers and training.
- Touched jurisdiction and opt-outs.
- MajorTouched opt-outs, what's collected, plan tiers and training.
- MajorTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors, plan tiers and training.
- Touched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected and sub-processors.
Vendor response
We wrote to Canva on 21 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause