232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 3 CLAUSES ON FILE
design

Does Figma train on your data?

On Starter and Professional, Figma's Content Training setting ships ON. The privacy policy never says so — only Figma's AI pages do.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Asked · no reply
Verdict
D
Trains on you by default
A self-serve opt-out exists

Graded on the plan most people are on. The other plans are in the matrix below.

Evidence 1 — Starter and Professional
AI Addendum · Starter and Professional
EVIDENCE 01 OF 03
"For Starter and Professional, content training is set to 'on' by default - admins can opt out"
CHECKED
17 Aug 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Starter and Professional
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
4F17556B…C005

How we read it: The default is the whole question, and the privacy policy does not answer it: it makes training conditional on a "Content Training" toggle and never says which way that toggle ships. Only this AI page and a help-centre article state it, and they state it per plan. Graded D rather than C for exactly that reason — the switch is real and free, but a reader of the privacy policy alone cannot learn they are opted in. On these plans it is also a team-level setting held by an admin, so an individual member of someone else's team cannot turn it off for their own work. The quote is one row of a per-plan table and ends where that row does; the next row states the Organization and Enterprise default.

CONTROLS SEARCHED FOR · 19 Aug 2026

content training, by default, default, turned on, set to, opt out, opt-out

What the document does offer

  • in the privacy policy: "if 'Content Training' is toggled on within your administrative user settings" — the toggle named, its default not
  • in the privacy policy: "Learn more about how you can manage your AI features and content training here", linking out to the help centre
  • the policy's only "by default" and "turned on" sentences, which concern domain capture for Education accounts and link sharing for children's accounts

Why none of it applies: This tier's claim is about a default rather than a control, and it holds: the privacy policy names the Content Training toggle twice and never once says which way it ships. The two sentences in it that do state a default are about other features entirely. The default is published — on the AI approach page quoted here, and in a help-centre article — just nowhere a reader of the policy would find it.

Evidence 2 — Organization and Enterprise
AI Addendum · Organization and Enterprise
EVIDENCE 02 OF 03
"By default, content training is turned off on Organization and Enterprise plans."
CHECKED
7 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Organization and Enterprise
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
C85F89A2…1094

How we read it: Figma's own explanation for the split is that agreements with these customers "are typically more complex and include specific requirements and restrictions". The same help-centre article adds that content training is currently disabled outright on these plans and cannot be toggled on at all.

Evidence 3 — Children's accounts (K12 education)
Privacy Policy · Children's accounts (K12 education)
EVIDENCE 03 OF 03
"Figma does not use personal information collected from Children to train, fine-tune, or otherwise develop or improve any AI services, (nor will we permit our service providers to do so) including large language models."
CHECKED
7 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Children's accounts (K12 education)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
CAE52EFD…B5DF

How we read it: Unusually, the exclusion is extended to Figma's service providers as well as to Figma itself, and names fine-tuning and large language models rather than only "training" in the abstract. It is scoped to personal information collected from "Children" — a term the policy uses for K12 educational accounts — so it does not speak to an ordinary adult account.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

Starter and ProfessionalTRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Self-serve toggle
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
47 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Yes, stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Organization and EnterpriseTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Children's accounts (K12 education)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
14 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Yes, stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Figma AI training

Plan by plan, from what Figma's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

Starter and Professional

Yes. Figma has a self-serve setting.

Starter team
  1. From the file browser, open your team and click All Folders in the left sidebar.
  2. Open the menu next to your team name and choose View settings.
  3. Go to the Settings tab and scroll to the AI section.
  4. Select Manage AI settings.
  5. Toggle Content training off.

Team admins only. Figma says new content and edits stop being used once it's off.

Professional team
  1. From the file browser, open your team and click Admin in the left sidebar.
  2. Open the Settings tab and scroll to the AI section.
  3. Select Manage AI settings and toggle Content training off.

Organization and Enterprise

Nothing to switch off: Figma's policy says training is off here.

Children's accounts (K12 education)

Nothing to switch off: Figma's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policyquoted
7 Sept 2026
AI Addendum
17 Aug 2026
AI Addendumquoted
7 Sept 2026
AI Addendumquoted
17 Aug 2026
Data Processing Addendum
24 Aug 2026
Sub-processor List
5 Oct 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We wrote to Figma on 20 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with Canva and Adobe · Writing about Figma? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.