Does Miro train on your data?
Miro asks enterprise customers for consent before training on their boards. On free, Starter and Business you only get a right to object — and not objecting grants a perpetual licence.
A self-serve opt-out exists
Graded on the plan most people are on. The other plans are in the matrix below.
"Miro will provide you with reasonable means to object to such use."
- 17 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Free, Starter and Business
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 8A6CE6CE…FE91
How we read it: Read against the enterprise tier below, this is the same company offering two different arrangements: consent asked for up front there, a right to object here. Silence is treated as agreement — the addendum says that if you consent "or do not object", you grant Miro a non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, royalty-free licence to your Input and Output. Miro undertakes to remove direct identifiers. "Reasonable means to object" is not defined and no setting is named, which is what holds this at D: there is an exit, but the addendum does not tell you where it is.
opt out, opt-out, object to, settings, toggle, turn off, disable, by default
What the document does offer
- "if you are on a free, starter, business, or equivalent plan, and Miro seeks to use your Input and Output for improving its AI Features, including for training or fine tuning underlying models, Miro will provide you with reasonable means to object to such use"
- "You may withdraw your consent at any time during your Agreement term"
- no named setting, no toggle and no route; "opt out" appears zero times in the capture
Why none of it applies: The commitment is future tense and self-referential: Miro "will provide" reasonable means to object, at a point when it "seeks to use" the data. Nothing names what those means are, where they live, or whether they exist yet. A promise to provide a control later is not a control, which is why this stays D on a clause that reads, in isolation, like a protection.
"Miro will obtain your consent prior to using your Input and Output for improving its AI Features, including for training or fine tuning underlying models."
- 17 Aug 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Enterprise (Master Cloud Agreement)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 8A6CE6CE…FE91
How we read it: Consent is sought before any training use rather than assumed from silence, and it can be withdrawn at any time during the agreement term. This is the stronger of Miro's two arrangements, and it is the one attached to the plan that comes with a negotiated contract.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Self-serve toggle
- Not stated
- 53 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 19 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Miro AI training
Plan by plan, from what Miro's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
Free, Starter and Business
Yes. Miro has a self-serve setting.
- Open the Admin Console.
- Go to Security, then Miro AI.
- Turn off "Use data for Miro AI improvements".
An admin setting. On a team you created yourself that's you; otherwise it's whoever runs the team.
Enterprise (Master Cloud Agreement)
Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Miro about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause