Does PayPal train on your data?
PayPal states plainly that it uses your personal information to train its AI models. It offers opt-outs for advertising and personalised shopping, and none for that.
No opt-out found in this policy
"We may use Personal Information to train our artificial intelligence (AI) models that power our Services and help us deliver more secure, efficient, and personalized services."
- 1 Oct 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- uk
- Fetched from the company
- A13B5707…9A30
How we read it: The sentence is unusually direct; what surrounds it is the finding. This is a 108,000-character notice carrying a dozen opt-outs — personalised shopping, disclosures to partners and merchants, marketing messages, profiling with legal effects — and not one is an opt-out from AI training. Nor does it say the data is anonymised or aggregated first, which several far smaller companies here do say. A general right to object to legitimate-interest processing exists, but it is not training-specific and is offered "where applicable by law". Graded on what PayPal holds: what you bought, from whom, when and where.
opt out, opt-out, object to, legitimate interest, withdraw, settings, Data and Privacy, consent
What the document does offer
- "Your right to object to legitimate interest processing. Where applicable by law, if you want to object to our use of your Personal Information to pursue our legitimate interests ... you can refer to Our Contact Information" — gated by "where applicable by law"
- "To opt-out of disclosures of Personal Information to Partners and Merchants for personalized shopping experiences, log into your PayPal account and edit your preferences in the Data and Privacy setting" — disclosure to third parties, not training
- a right to object to or opt out of profiling in furtherance of automated decisions with legal or similarly significant effects — scoped to those decisions, not to model training
- "Because many of our services won't function without tracking data, we do not respond to DNT settings"
- the training sentence sits under "AI and Automated Decision Making" with no legal basis stated beside it; the policy has no purpose-to-basis table of the kind Otter and Booking.com publish
Why none of it applies: Every control in the document governs disclosure, advertising or automated decisions. The one route that could reach training is the objection to legitimate-interest processing, and it is conditioned on "where applicable by law" — the same gate that keeps Atlassian and Otter at F. PayPal also does not say which legal basis the training rests on, so a reader cannot establish that the objection reaches it even where the right exists. F stands, on the absence of any route a reader can identify rather than on the absence of the word "opt out".
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 89 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of PayPal AI training
Plan by plan, from what PayPal's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for PayPal.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 17 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to PayPal about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause