Does Revolut train on your data?
Revolut trains internal models on customer data, including credit decisions made by AI with no human input. You can object — but it warns that objecting may cost you the account.
"develop, train and test our internal models."
- 1 Oct 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- uk
- Fetched from the company
- 957475D7…38D8
How we read it: The training sentence is one item in a list headed "We use your personal data to:", on a legitimate-interests basis; it continues "This helps us ensure our decisions are accurate, fair and effective". It is recent — the capture of 12 August 2025 does not contain it, the capture of 5 June 2026 does. Automated decisions are addressed separately and more bluntly: "Some of these decisions are made using artificial intelligence without any initial human input", listed against credit eligibility, approvals, limits and terminating a credit agreement. Weigh the objection right against what follows it — "we may need to close your account as we won't be able to provide the services".
opt out, object to, objection, legitimate interest, privacy settings, withdraw
What the document does offer
- "You can object to us processing other personal data (if we're using it for legitimate interests)" — the training list sits on a legitimate-interests basis, so this reaches it
- "If you prefer we don't use your data in this way, you can opt out through the privacy settings in the Revolut app" — this is about credit reference agency data used to improve credit products, NOT the training list; the two are separate sections
- "You can object to profiling for direct marketing purposes" — marketing
- the warning attached to objecting: "we may need to close your account as we won't be able to provide the services"
Why none of it applies: There is an in-app privacy setting and it is easy to mistake for the control — it sits under credit reference agency data used to improve credit products, not under "develop, train and test our internal models". The route that does reach training is the objection right, which is a message rather than a switch, and which the same document warns may end in the account being closed. That is the D.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Contact support
- Not stated
- 56 / 100
- Not stated
- Yes, with opt-out
How to opt out of Revolut AI training
Plan by plan, from what Revolut's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
Yes, but not self-serve: Revolut makes you contact support.
- Email dpo@revolut.com.
- Say you object, under legitimate interests, to your personal data being used to develop, train and test Revolut's internal models.
Revolut says it will refuse where it has an overriding reason, and that objecting to data it needs for the service may mean closing your account.
What this policy has done since we started watching
2 changes detected since 11 Jan 2024. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Revolut on 21 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause