Does Commonwealth Bank train on your data?
Commonwealth Bank says it uses customer information — transaction records among it — to train artificial intelligence models. Australian customers are offered no way out of it.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Sometimes we use your information, for example your transaction information, to train, develop, and in deployed artificial intelligence models for purposes such as:"
- 1 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All customers
- row
- Fetched from the company
- 7EB6EE73…78E4
How we read it: The training use sits in an "Artificial Intelligence" row of the bank's purposes table, with transaction information as its own example: financial records, for purposes from fraud detection to product development and marketing. F because no way out is offered: the only opt-outs are for direct marketing and advertising, and neither reaches the models. Published as E on 1 September and corrected the next day against this site's own scale: E is the band for an opt-out sold with a higher plan, which this is not, and fraud-led purposes are not something the scale grades on. EEA and UK customers can object under the GDPR appendix at Section 7; Australian customers have nothing equivalent.
opt out, opt-out, object, withdraw, consent, preferences
What the document does offer
- "For more information about how we use your information for direct marketing purposes and ways to opt out, please see section 2b" — direct marketing, not the models
- "You can opt out of targeted CBA advertising on social and other third-party media platforms" via marketing preferences in NetBank or the CommBank App — advertising, not the models
- "The right to object" and "The right to withdraw your consent if we are relying on it" — both inside "Additional rights for individuals located in the European Economic Area and United Kingdom", the GDPR appendix at Section 7
- Rights over automated decisions: "You can ask that we not make decisions based on automated score alone or object to an automated decision and ask that a person review the automated decision" — also in the EEA/UK appendix, and about decisions rather than training
Why none of it applies: No control over the AI training use is offered to Australian customers. The opt-outs the policy publishes are about marketing and advertising, and the objection right that would reach further is scoped by its own heading to the EEA and the UK. The clause stops at its colon because what follows is a bulleted list of purposes: fraud and scam protection; enquiries; summarising interactions including online chat; developing and improving products; understanding trends; generating usage information; and communicating about other products, including partners' products.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- None offered
- Not stated
- 90 / 100
- Not stated
- Yes
How to opt out of Commonwealth Bank AI training
Plan by plan, from what Commonwealth Bank's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All customers
No opt-out is stated in the policy on file for Commonwealth Bank.
What this policy has done since we started watching
1 change detected since 17 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Everything we read
Vendor response
We wrote to Commonwealth Bank on 1 Sept 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause