Does Ellipsus train on your data?
Ellipsus says your documents, drafts, comments and chat messages will never train an AI model, in its privacy policy and again in its terms. It says it won't use generative AI at all.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Your documents, drafts, comments, chat messages, and data will never be used to train or otherwise develop machine learning or AI models, and will not be shared or sold to third-parties for that purpose."
- 2 Oct 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- Free and Plus
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 0B3B380E…EB62
How we read it: The privacy policy, last updated 7 July 2026, says it three times, first in bold: "We will never use your writing to train AI models." The last covers models "whether internal or passed to a third-party provider". The terms say the licence you grant doesn't "extend to the use of your content for training or developing machine learning or AI models of any kind". There's no opt-in: Ellipsus says it has no model to train. It also told this site that works are "encrypted at rest and in flight", which none of its documents says. B and not A because these are promises. Nothing published says Ellipsus can't read your writing, only that it won't train on it.
What Ellipsus said when we showed them this
Corrected us“This is explicitly stated in bold just before the section of our Privacy Policy that you elected not to include: "We will never use your writing to train AI models." [...] There is no opt-in because there is no model in Ellipsus to train. Period. [7 October 2026:] You cannot opt into training. There is no training to opt into. [...] Additionally, works are encrypted at rest and in flight, so again: the only way a model could ever see the writing [...] is if a human being (e.g. yourself) manually puts it into some other model somewhere [...]”
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Ellipsus AI training
Plan by plan, from what Ellipsus's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
Free and Plus
Nothing to switch off: Ellipsus's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
The record starts here. Ellipsus's 3 documents were first captured on 2 Oct 2026, and there's no earlier copy to compare them against, so this verdict has no history behind it yet. From now on every re-read is diffed against those copies, and anything that moves appears here.
Vendor response
Their reply is quoted in full at the top of this page.
We wrote back on 7 Oct 2026 with a question that's still open. It's listed on the register.