232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
productivity

Does Notion train on your data?

Notion's help centre says it plainly: by default, neither Notion nor its AI subprocessors use Customer Data to train any models. The privacy policy only ever said so for Workspace API data.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Does not train on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All plans (Notion AI and Customer Data)
AI Addendum · All plans (Notion AI and Customer Data)
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"By default, Notion and its AI Subprocessors do not use Customer Data to train any models. We specifically have contractual agreements in place with our AI Subprocessors that prohibit the use of Customer Data to train their models."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All plans (Notion AI and Customer Data)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
D07A6FFE…2336

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026. The privacy policy commits only for "Workspace API user data" and "generalized" models, which left a person's own pages unaddressed; Notion's help page on Notion AI security answers for Customer Data as a whole, adds that using Notion AI "does not grant Notion any right or license to your Customer Data to train our machine learning models", and binds its AI subprocessors by contract. B rather than A because it is an undertaking, and one that opens "By default": a default is something a setting or a plan can change, and the page does not say what would. Retention with LLM providers is zero for Enterprise workspaces and 30 days or fewer for the rest.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All plans (Notion AI and Customer Data)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Notion AI training

Plan by plan, from what Notion's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All plans (Notion AI and Customer Data)

Nothing to switch off: Notion's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

3 CAPTURES SINCE 30 AUG 2026

1 change detected since 30 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.

  1. MinorTouched training. Not yet reviewed by a human.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
5 Oct 2026
AI Addendumquoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Notion about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with Evernote and Airtable · Writing about Notion? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Notion is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Notion is graded B on Is It Training on Me