Does Glean train on your data?
Glean publishes a flat no: it does not train its own generative models on customer data. Its Head of Legal told us that was confidential — it is on Glean's public trust centre, with a permalink.
No opt-out found in this policy
"No, Glean does not use Customer data to train its own generative models."
- 7 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All accounts
- global
- Fetched, browser-rendered
- 635719F2…EFA2
How we read it: Graded UNCLEAR until 20 Aug 2026, and the correction is ours. Asked on 19 Aug, Glean's Head of Legal said the company does not train on customer data and that this is stated in security documents "which are confidential". We published that as an answer a reader could not reach, without checking whether Glean published it anyway. It does: the Trust Center puts the question verbatim and answers it in the sentence quoted here — no login, no NDA, its own permalink. The published wording is narrower than the email's, which is why this is a B with a caveat. The email said "customer/user data"; the sentence says "its own generative models", and for a search company a ranking model is not.
train, training, generative, model, machine learning, artificial intelligence, fine-tune
What the document does offer
- on the trust centre FAQ: "No, Glean does not use Customer data to train its own generative models." — permalink https://trust.glean.com/faq?s=cgdcja82w9vz36cw4xb3j0
- in the deployment docs: "Glean uses a single-tenant infrastructure ... Your data doesn't leave this environment."
- in the public DPA (8pp PDF): nothing. Its only "train" is SCC boilerplate about staff having followed specialised training; its only "model" is a subprocessor note about whether the customer brings its own LLM
- in the privacy policy: no training, machine-learning or artificial-intelligence language at all
Why none of it applies: The commitment is published and archivable, so it is quoted and the grade rests on it rather than on correspondence. Two limits are recorded rather than smoothed over: it is scoped to "generative" models, which for a search company leaves ranking models unaddressed; and it sits on a trust centre rather than in the privacy policy or the DPA, neither of which mentions training at all. A customer who reads only the documents they sign would not find it.
What Glean said when we showed them this
Changed“I lead Legal at Glean Technologies Inc. Glean Technologies Inc. does not train on customer/user data, this is clearly stated in our security documents, which are confidential.”
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Glean AI training
Plan by plan, from what Glean's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All accounts
Nothing to switch off: Glean's policy says training is off here.
What this policy has done since we started watching
2 changes detected since 14 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.