Does Asana train on your data?
Asana says it never trains AI models on your task content. It does train machine-learning models on your domain's usage metadata, and only once an admin enables AI.
No opt-out found in this policy
"Neither Asana nor Asana's AI partners use customer data to train AI models of any kind ."
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans (task content)
- global
- Fetched, browser-rendered
- 1D246ECC…984B
How we read it: "Of any kind" is doing real work in this sentence, and the exclusion is extended to Asana's AI partners — named on the same page as OpenAI and Anthropic — not just to Asana. The same passage adds that those partners are configured to delete inputs and outputs once a query completes. Kept as its own tier because Asana's answer genuinely differs by data category: content is excluded outright, usage metadata is not (see the tier below).
"When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain, we use metadata related to your domain's use of Asana to train machine learning models."
- 7 Sept 2026
- 5 Oct 2026
- All plans (domain usage metadata)
- global
- Fetched from the company
- 39D32E03…BC28
How we read it: The narrower exposure, and the one the content exclusion does not cover: metadata about how your domain uses Asana, rather than what is in your tasks. It is conditioned on Asana AI being enabled, which the help-centre article describes as something customers choose to enable for their domain, admin-controlled through the admin console. That framing is why this reads as opt-in; neither document states a shipped default outright, so the framing is the evidence. Being domain-level, the choice belongs to an admin rather than to an individual member.
What each plan can refuse
The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 18 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
- Nothing to switch off
- Not stated
- 17 / 100
- Not stated
- Unknown
How to opt out of Asana AI training
Plan by plan, from what Asana's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.
All plans (task content)
Nothing to switch off: Asana's policy says training is off here.
All plans (domain usage metadata)
Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.
What this policy has done since we started watching
2 changes detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.
Vendor response
We haven't yet written to Asana about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.
Report a wrong clause