232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 10 SEPT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
work

Does Workday train on your data?

Workday's Innovation Services Addendum says a customer contributes data to its machine-learning services only by opting in, service by service, and can stop any time. That customer is your employer.

LAST CHECKED
10 Sept 2026 · 1 month ago
CONFIDENCE
medium
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not yet asked
Verdict
B
Off by default, opt-in only
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — Innovation Services (employer opt-in)
Terms of Service · Innovation Services (employer opt-in)
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Customer has no obligation to contribute IS Data but Customer's right to participate in any specific Innovation Service(s) and receive Results (as defined above) is conditioned on Customer contributing IS Data."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
APPLIES TO
Innovation Services (employer opt-in)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Saved by hand — not re-read automatically
SHA-256
3C15B40A…41B5

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026 on the Innovation Services Terms and Conditions Addendum, version 25.6H, a PDF saved by hand. It never uses "train" or "machine learning"; the administrator guide does, saying AI features in Innovation Services need data contribution enabled. Contribution is conditional on signing the addendum and enabling each service, can be stopped "by disabling specific Innovation Service(s)", and contributed data is used only to provide and improve those services. Opt-in, so B; but the party opting in is the employer that runs Workday, and an employee has no switch of their own, which is why the confidence is medium.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

Innovation Services (employer opt-in)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
17 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Workday AI training

Plan by plan, from what Workday's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

Innovation Services (employer opt-in)

Nothing to switch off: training here is off until an opt-in is given.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

3 CAPTURES SINCE 30 AUG 2026

No change detected. We've held a copy of Workday's documents since 30 Aug 2026 and re-read them since, across 3 captures of 2 documents. The text hasn't moved in a way that touches this verdict. That's a fact about the documents, and it's only knowable by having kept the earlier copies.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policy
7 Sept 2026
Terms of Servicequoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We haven't yet written to Workday about this verdict, and they haven't disputed, clarified or announced a change to any clause quoted above. When either happens it's published here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Writing about Workday? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Workday is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Workday is graded B on Is It Training on Me