232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 1 CLAUSES ON FILE
work

Does Linear train on your data?

Linear's documentation says it "does not utilize your data to train its own AI models", and that the AI sub-processors it uses have no permission to train on it either.

LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Asked · no reply
Verdict
B
Does not train on you by default
No opt-out found in this policy

Evidence 1 — All accounts
AI Addendum · All accounts
EVIDENCE 01 OF 01
"Linear does not utilize your data to train its own AI models."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
All accounts
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
62735EF5…9AAE

How we read it: Resolved from UNCLEAR on 10 September 2026. The privacy policy, security page and DPA say nothing; the answer is in the Triage Intelligence documentation's AI Privacy FAQ, undated, and repeated in the agents documentation. Data the AI features use goes to sub-processors listed in the DPA "exclusively to deliver those AI functionalities to you without permission to train on provided data", and the only training data Linear names is what users volunteer, such as a thumbs up or down on an output. Linear was written to on 2026-08-20 and did not reply; the sentence was in its own docs. B because it is an undertaking.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

All accountsTRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
18 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of Linear AI training

Plan by plan, from what Linear's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

All accounts

Nothing to switch off: Linear's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

5 CAPTURES SINCE 13 AUG 2026

1 change detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.

  1. NotableTouched retention and what's collected.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Trust Centre
1 Oct 2026
Privacy Policy
7 Sept 2026
AI Addendumquoted
10 Sept 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

We wrote to Linear on 20 Aug 2026, quoting the clauses above and inviting a correction. Nothing has come back. That's published because a company declining to comment on its own policy is something a reader should know, and because the invitation should be on the record whether or not it's taken up. Any reply goes here, word for word.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with Asana and Atlassian (Jira / Confluence / Trello) · Writing about Linear? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.

Show this verdict on your site

Linear is graded B, and a company that's earned that can say so with the verdict itself. The image below links back to this page and shows the live grade. If the grade changes, the badge changes the same day, wherever it's embedded. It's free and it isn't for sale.

Linear is graded B on Is It Training on Me