232 APPS TRACKED · 227 CLAUSES ON FILE · 38 WITH NO CLAUSE TO QUOTE
RECORD OPENED 5 OCT 2026 · 3 CLAUSES ON FILE
productivity

Does QuillBot train on your data?

QuillBot trains on what you type unless you act: extension users get two switches, website users must email privacy@quillbot.com, and only Team Plan users are excluded by default.

Privacy PaywallOpt-out requires a higher plan
LAST CHECKED
5 Oct 2026 · 5 days ago
CONFIDENCE
high
RIGHT OF REPLY
Corrected us
Verdict
D
Trains on you by default
Opt-out is sold, not offered

Evidence 1 — Website tools (free and individual Premium)
Privacy Policy · Website tools (free and individual Premium)
EVIDENCE 01 OF 03
"AI Models and Training Data. We may use all of the data we collect (including your personal data) to train our algorithms, AI models and AI products and for Services using machine learning to develop, improve and provide the Services."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Website tools (free and individual Premium)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched, browser-rendered
SHA-256
DCA2C681…3C03

How we read it: Re-graded from E on 18 September 2026 after Learneo, QuillBot's owner, replied. The policy claims everything it collects and only gestures at controls: services "may offer you additional privacy settings or controls". The help centre documents two switches, but for the browser extension only. For the website tools the route is the one Learneo gave in its reply: users "can submit a request to object or opt-out of the use of text inputs or training purposes by email to privacy@quillbot.com". Published nowhere, so recorded as the company's statement; an email is the way out. Training data gets "automatic pseudonymization of certain sensitive fields", a qualified promise.

CONTROLS SEARCHED FOR · 18 Sept 2026

opt out, opt-out, settings, controls, object, revoke consent, Team Plan, privacy@quillbot.com

What the document does offer

  • in the policy: "Our Services may offer you additional privacy settings or controls, such as the ability to opt-out of certain activities like storage or use of inputs for AI model training" — names no setting, and "may offer" commits to nothing
  • in the policy: the Team Plan carve-out, definite where the individual control is not: "This default setting applies to all Quillbot Team Plan users and does not require any opt-out or action from the Team Plan Owner or users"
  • in the help centre (help.quillbot.com, captured 2026-09-18): two extension controls, "(1) allowing Quillbot to store text inputs (all users) and (2) allowing Quillbot to use text inputs to train the models that power our AI tools (available to account-holders)", reached via Extension Settings > View All Settings > Data and Privacy. Nothing for the website tools.
  • in Learneo's reply of 2026-09-18: website users "can submit a request to object or opt-out of the use of text inputs or training purposes by email to privacy@quillbot.com" — published nowhere
  • support.quillbot.com, where the policy defers the detail, is Disallow: / in its robots.txt; help.quillbot.com, where the answers actually are, is not

Why none of it applies: The website tools have a way out and it is an email address, stated by the company in reply to this site and published in none of its documents. The extension has two switches the help centre names and locates. The Team Plan is excluded by default. D rather than E because a route now exists for an individual; D rather than C because for most users it is a letter to the company, and the help centre never says which way the extension's training switch ships for a new account-holder.

Evidence 2 — Browser extension 4.37.0 or later (account-holders)
AI Addendum · Browser extension 4.37.0 or later (account-holders)
EVIDENCE 02 OF 03
"For extensions users on versions 4.37.0 or above, we offer two data controls to opt out of: (1) allowing Quillbot to store text inputs (all users) and (2) allowing Quillbot to use text inputs to train the models that power our AI tools (available to account-holders)."
CHECKED
1 Oct 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Browser extension 4.37.0 or later (account-holders)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched from the company
SHA-256
0D7760A6…52E2

How we read it: The help centre names the switches and where they live, and says storage "will be on by default for everyone". Which way the training switch ships for a new account-holder it does not say: existing users' "prior consent setting will be applied to the new control for training", and nothing is said about anyone else, so the default is undisclosed. Website users get neither switch. The same page promises the desktop app the same controls "in the future".

Evidence 3 — Team Plan (paid)
Privacy Policy · Team Plan (paid)
EVIDENCE 03 OF 03
"When you use Quillbot's premium services with a Team Plan, we will use and store your inputs to provide our Services as described in this policy, but we will not use your text inputs for the purposes of training our AI models ."
CHECKED
10 Sept 2026
STILL LIVE AS OF
5 Oct 2026
APPLIES TO
Team Plan (paid)
JURISDICTION
global
HOW IT WAS TAKEN
Fetched, browser-rendered
SHA-256
DCA2C681…3C03

How we read it: The exemption is explicit and is the other half of the paywall: the same document that claims all collected data for training carves out Team Plan text inputs from it. Note the limit — it covers text inputs, and the policy still says inputs are used and stored to provide the service.

What QuillBot said when we showed them this

Corrected us18 Sept 2026
“While the excerpt of the Learneo Privacy Policy (applicable to Quillbot) included in your inquiry is accurate and applicable, we would like to help clarify your “finding” statement. [...] For extensions users on versions 4.37.0 or above, we offer two data controls to opt out of [...] allowing Quillbot to use text inputs to train the models that power our AI tools. Users of any of our website-based tools can submit a request to object or opt-out of the use of text inputs or training purposes by email to privacy@quillbot.com. [...] Quillbot does not train on any text inputs from Team Plan users.”

Printed exactly as it was sent, and unedited except where […] marks a cut. We've since asked a further question and are waiting on it - see the register.

What each plan can refuse

The same questions, asked of every plan we could identify. Every cell comes from a quoted clause or a documented search - see the evidence above.

The right to refuse starts here
Website tools (free and individual Premium)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Contact support
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
58 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Qualified
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Browser extension 4.37.0 or later (account-holders)TRAINS: YES
OPT-OUT
Self-serve toggle
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
51 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Qualified
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown
Team Plan (paid)TRAINS: NO
OPT-OUT
Nothing to switch off
RETENTION
Not stated
EXPOSURE
19 / 100
DE-IDENTIFIED
Not stated
HUMAN REVIEW
Unknown

How to opt out of QuillBot AI training

Plan by plan, from what QuillBot's own policy says about refusing. Where it publishes the steps, they're listed here with the limits they carry. Where there's nothing to switch off, or nothing graded, this says so instead of inventing a menu path.

Website tools (free and individual Premium)

Yes, but not self-serve: QuillBot makes you contact support.

Browser extension 4.37.0 or later (account-holders)

Yes. QuillBot has a self-serve setting.

Browser extension (4.37.0 or later), signed in
  1. Click the QuillBot extension icon to open Extension Settings, or open the Popup Menu.
  2. Click View All Settings.
  3. Open the Data and Privacy menu and switch off the control for using your text inputs to train the models.

The training control is offered to account-holders only; the storage control to everyone. Storage is on by default for all; the training default for a new account-holder is not stated.

Team Plan (paid)

Nothing to switch off: QuillBot's policy says training is off here.

Each step's source and archived copy →

What this policy has done since we started watching

7 CAPTURES SINCE 13 AUG 2026

3 changes detected since 13 Aug 2026. Each one is a diff between two archived copies, and each links to the passage that moved.

  1. MinorTouched training. Not yet reviewed by a human.
  2. MinorTouched what's collected and sub-processors. Not yet reviewed by a human.
  3. NotableTouched jurisdiction, opt-outs, retention, what's collected, sub-processors, plan tiers and training.

Everything we read

DOCUMENT
CHECKED
SNAPSHOT
Privacy Policyquoted
10 Sept 2026
AI Addendumquoted
1 Oct 2026
AI Addendum
1 Oct 2026

Vendor response

From the company? What a reply does and what moves a grade.

Corrected us18 Sept 2026

Their reply is quoted in full at the top of this page.

We wrote back on 19 Sept 2026 with a question that's still open. It's listed on the register.

Report a wrong clause

Compared with Grammarly · Writing about QuillBot? Embed this verdict as a card that stays current.